Political Dialogue

The European Union and Georgia have an extensive history and experience in political dialogue. Intensive and institutional dialogue between the parties was achieved after the signature of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA), in which a special chapter is devoted to political dialogue.

The joint institutional mechanisms set up under the PCA are the core values of the Agreement. These mechanisms monitor proper implementation of commitments undertaken by the governments and discuss country's progress achieved in reform-related issues. The major political institutions consist of the Cooperation Council (11 meetings are being held) and the Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (10 meetings are being held). Established under the Articles 81-88 of the PCA, these institutions at ministerial and head of departments' level discuss the strategic areas of cooperation, degree of compliance with the main provisions of the Agreement, draw conclusions and issue relevant recommendations.

The Cooperation Council includes the following Sub-Committees on:

  • Trade, Economic and related legal issues;
  • Justice, Freedom and Security (JLS);
  • Transport, Environment and Energy;
  • Social Affairs, Public Health, Training, Education and Youth, Culture, Information Society, Audiovisual, Science and Technology.

With the aim to discuss the bilateral cooperation, these Institutions meet once or twice a year and issue relevant recommendations to their respective governments.

The EU "Troika" (the former, current and next EU Presidency) holds regular meetings with the Georgian side, at senior official and expert level, to discuss developments of the EU-Georgia cooperation.